Bean Salad

February 16, 2011 at 6:00 am Leave a comment

Before Alana was born my friend Jenn gave me a wonderful baby shower. Several people that attended brought dishes to share and Adrian brought this bean salad. While I was pregnant I couldn’t eat beans due to the horrible heart burn that I sufferred so I initially passed right by this salad. After several people told me I had to try it I finally did and it was delicious! I was really sad I couldn’t eat more of it, but you better believe that it is now a staple in our house. We eat it as a snack, served over fish, in taco salads, and just by itself. You name it we’ve probably tried it. This recipe makes a lot, but it keeps well in the fridge. My 13 month old is even crazy about this salad!

Bean Salad
Ingredients:
1 can white shoepeg corn
1 can red kidney beans
1 can garbanzo beans
1 can black beans
1 can black eyed peas
6 green onions, chopped
2 bell peppers (any color)
3 large tomatoes, diced
1 medium red onion, diced
broccoli florets, cut into bite-sized pieces
2 packages Good Seasons italian salad dressing
vegetable or canola oil
red wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar
water
1 package of taco seasoning or 3-4 Tbps homemade
tobasco or other hot sauce, to taste

Directions:
Rinse and drain the beans and corn. Place into a large bowl. Add green onions, bell peppers, tomatoes, red onion, and broccoli florets to the bean mixture.

In a 2 cup measuring cup mix up the Good Seasons Italian dressing  per directions (using oil, vinegar, and water) add 1 pkg taco seasoning, and tobasco to taste. Mix dressing well and pour over veggie mix. Refrigerate for several hours or overnight. Serve with tortilla chips, over fish, in a salad, etc.

Source: my friend Adrian T.

Entry filed under: appetizer, Salads, Sides, snacks, Vegetarian.

Banana Pancakes Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


