Malted Milk Ice Cream & an Announcement

June 25, 2009 at 7:26 am 4 comments

First, I have to apologize for my short hiatus. I am happy to report that I am finally back in the kitchen after a short break. This break does come with merit I hope — I’m pregnant! Yep, we’re expecting a little one in January 2010. We’re absolutely thrilled. Unfortunately, I’ve been dealing with morning sickness and food aversions which have kept me out of the kitchen. I’m finally starting to feel somewhat better and can’t wait to start cooking and baking again. Thanks for sticking with me through my break! There will be many more great recipes to come.

Now on to the ice cream. I can’t believe I didn’t try this one sooner. Afterall, my favorite thing to order at the ice cream shop is a chocolate malt. This ice cream was phoenomenal and by far my favorite to date.The recipe calls for malted milk balls coarsely chopped and I was afraid they would turn into rocks after freezing, but they didn’t. In fact, they almost became a bit softer. Next time I might try adding some cocoa powder or melted chocolate to make this a chocolate base — that might make it even better than it already is.

I will also be submitting this to Joelen’s Tasty Tools event for June featuring the ice cream maker. Check out her site for more wonderful recipes and blogging events!

malted milk ice cream

Malted Milk Ice Cream
Ingredients:
1 Cup half and half
3/4 Cup sugar
Pinch of salt
2 Cups heavy cream
1/4 tsp vanilla
2/3 Cup malt powder
6 large egg yolkds
2 Cups malted milk balls, coarsely chopped

Instructions:
Warm the half and half, sugar, and salt in a medium saucepan. In a large bowl, whisk together the heavy cream, vanilla, and malt powder and set a mesh strainer on top.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the sauce pan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a satula. Pour the custard through the strainer and whisk it into the malted milk mixture. Stir until cook over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture in the refrigerator, preferably overnight. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. As you remove the ice cream from the machine, fold in the chopped malted milk balls.

Source: The Perfect Scoop, by David Lebovitz

Entry filed under: Ice Cream/Sorbet.

Panko Crusted Pork Chops Tall and Creamy Cheesecake

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  June 25, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Looks yummy….and CONGRATS!!

  • 2. michelle  |  June 25, 2009 at 7:58 am

    My mom would love this, Whoppers are her fav!
    P.S Congratulations!!

  • 3. Shauna  |  June 25, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Congratulations!! Oh, and the ice cream looks heavenly.

  • 4. Laura  |  June 25, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Congrats! Zofran (or the generic equivalent) works wonders for morning sickness if it gets worse/doesn’t go away. I hope your food aversions don’t last as long as mine has…I’m almost 17 weeks and still have them!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


