Tortilla and Black Bean Pie

May 2, 2009 at 9:24 am 7 comments

Sometimes I try recipes even though I think I might not like them. This is one of those recipes. I wasn’t sure I liked black beans. I decided to try the recipe anyways because I had heard such wonderful things about it. Well, it turns out I do like black beans. This dish was fantastic! I was afraid Joe wouldn’t like it since it was meatless, but he raved about it. So, if you’re looking for a great meat-less dinner this is sure to be a winner.

The only thing I changed from the original recipe is that I used corn tortillas because that’s what I had on hand. They don’t fit nicely in a springform so they do have to be trimmed. I put one in the center and cut two tortillas in half and placed the around the center tortilla. I much prefer the taste of corn tortillas and this worked out perfectly.

black-bean-pie

Tortilla and Black Bean Pie
Ingredients:
4 (10-inch) flour tortillas or about 12 corn tortillas
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 large onion, diced
1 jalapeno chile, minced (remove seeds and ribs for less heat)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Coarse salt and ground pepper
2 cans (15 ounces each) black beans, drained and rinsed
12 ounces beer, or 1 1/2 cups water
1 package (10 ounces) frozen corn
4 scallions, thinly sliced, plus more for garnish
2 1/2 cups (8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese
sour cream and salsa, for serving

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Using a paring knife, trim tortillas to fit a 9-inch springform pan, using the bottom of the pan as a guide. Set aside.

Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Add onion, jalapeno, garlic, and cumin; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, 5 to 7 minutes.

Add beans and beer to skillet, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; simmer until liquid has almost evaporated, 8 to 10 minutes. Stir in corn and scallions, and remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper.

Fit a trimmed tortilla in bottom of springform pan; layer with 1/4 of the beans and 1/2 cup cheese. Repeat three times, using 1 cup cheese on top layer. Bake until hot and cheese is melted, 20 to 25 minutes. Unmold pie; sprinkle with scallions. To serve, slice into wedges and serve with sour cream and salsa.

Source: Liz’s Cooking Blog

Entry filed under: casseroles, main dish, Vegetarian.

Milk Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream Panko Crusted Pork Chops

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  May 2, 2009 at 9:35 am

    It looks great!! I am glad you enjoyed it!

  • 2. Melissa  |  May 2, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Looks delicious – I made one with meat before, meatless looks just as good!

  • 3. Jessica  |  May 2, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    You had me at “black beans”! Yum, I can’t wait to give this a try.

  • 4. Heather Johnson  |  September 2, 2009 at 10:06 am

    How many people does this serve? I was thinking Spanish rice might be a nice side dish for this…

  • 5. Amy  |  September 2, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Heather,
    This would serve 6-8 easily. It just depends how large of portions you like. I think spanish rice would be an excellent side dish.

  • 6. Heather Johnson  |  September 3, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    This was a big hit at my house! My vegetarian loved it, the hubby ate it without complaint (high praise at my house!) and the 2 younger daughters ate it all! I did make some changes:

    I used fresh cilantro instead of jalepenos
    I didn’t have a springform pan so I greased a 9×9 metal pan. Came out great.

    I served it with fresh (homemade from the garden!) organic salsa and guacamole (not from the garden, not organic) with chips. Big hit all around. Thanks for the great recipes, Amy!

  • 7. Elle  |  October 2, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I love this dish. I didn’t feel like making a grocery run, so I forged ahead without cheese, salsa, or sour cream. The dish was still delicious, incredibly easy to make, and (with some changes) makes a great vegan/vegetarian dish. Thanks for the recipe!

    P.S. I look forward to trying this with Salsa…..yum!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


