Butterscotch Bars

April 24, 2009 at 7:48 am 2 comments

Recently, I was looking for a treat to bring to my internship to thank them for having me there all semester. To me, nothing says thank you like some homemade goodies. I went on a recipe search for something that wasn’t too unhealthy. I ended up deciding on these butterscotch bars. butterscotch-bars

There were a couple of things with this recipe. The first being that some of the topping fell off. You could add more butter to prevent that, but I honestly don’t think I will next time. Yes, the topping fell apart a bit, but the taste and texture were fine  (plus, I’d rather save the extra calories!). The second issue is the serving size. Cooking light recommends cutting these into 36 squares — yeah right! I made them a little bit bigger. Finally, I omitted the nuts. I don’t like nuts and usually omit them from everything. I’m sure they would be delicious in these if you like them. Overall, I really enjoyed these and everyone at my internship raved about them! 

butterscotch-bars-stacked

Butterscotch Bars
Ingredients:
1 Cup packed brown sugar
5 Tbsp butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg, beaten
9 oz all-purpose flour (about 2 Cups)
2 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup fat-free sweetened condensed milk
1 1/4 Cups butterscotch morsels
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts, toasted (I omitted)
cooking spray 

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Combine the sugar and butter in a large bowl. Stir in the vanilla and egg. Combine flour, oats, 1/2 tsp salt, and baking soda in a separate bowl. Add oat mixture to sugar mixture and stir with a fork until combined (mixture will be crumbly). Place 3 cups oat mixture into the bottom of a 13×9 inch baking pan coated with cookig spray; press into bottom of pan. Set aside.

Place condensed milk, butterscotch chips, and 1/8 tsp salt in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave at high 1 minute or until butterscotch morsels melt, stirring every 20 seconds. Stir in walnuts, if using. Scrape mixture into pan, spreading evenly over the crust. Sprinkle evenly with remaining oat mixture, gently pressing into butterscotch mixture. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes or until the topping is golden brown. Place pan on a wire rack; run a knife around outside edge. Cool completely.

Source: Cooking Light

Entry filed under: Brownies/Bars, dessert.

Enchilada Casserole Milk Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thecookingnurse  |  April 24, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I’m going go have to try these!

  • 2. joelen  |  April 24, 2009 at 9:51 am

    These look delicious! Butterscotch is one of those flavors that doesn’t get enough limelight and I hope to try this soon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


