Cinnamon Raisin Bread

March 18, 2009 at 7:31 pm 4 comments

Yet again, another recipe that is so much better than store-bought. I love making yeast breads. No matter how many recipes I have tried I continually get a kick out of watching the dough rise. This is the first sweet bread I made and the first time I rolled a loaf up. I did end up with a little air pocket in the middle of the loaf so maybe next time I will try to roll tighter? Regardless, the bread was great. I will be making this again and again!

I halved this recipe because I didn’t want to end up with two loaves if we didn’t enjoy it. Now, I’m really sorry I did. I wish I had another loaf to pull out of the freezer. Don’t make my mistake — make two loaves! I also used all dark raisins instead of half golden half dark since that is what I had on hand. Next time I would like to try it with golden.
cinnamon-rasin-bread

Cinnamon Raisin Bread
Ingredients:
1 Tbsp active dry yeast
3 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups warm water (105-115 F)
1 cup warm milk (105-115 F)
3 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1 Tbsp salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
6 to 6 1/4 cups bread flour, plus more as needed
3/4 cup golden raisins
3/4 cup dark raisins

for the filling:
2/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
4 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions
In a bowl, sprinkle the yeast and a pinch of granulated sugar over 1/2 cup of the water and stir to dissolve. Let stand until foamy, about 10 minutes.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fittened with the paddle attachment, combine the remaining 3/4 cup water, milk, butter, remaining sugar, salt, egg and 2 cups of flour. Beat on medium speed until creamy, about 1 minute. Add the yeast mixture and 1/2 cup of the flour and beat for 1 minute. Add the raisins, then beat in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl.

Switch to the dough hook. Knead on medium-low speed, adding flour 1 Tbsp at a time, if the dough sticks, until smooth and elastic, about 4 minutes. Transfer the dough to a greased deep bowl and turn to coat. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise at room temperature until doubled, 1 to 1.5 hours.

Lightly grease two 9-by-5 inch loaf pans. Mix together the brown sugar and cinnamon for the filling.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured board. Divide the dough in half and roll or pat each half into an 8-by-12-inch rectangle. Lightly sprinkle each rectangle with half of the filling, leaving a 1 inch border on all sides. Beginning at the narrow end, tightly roll up each rectangle into a compact log. Pinch the ends and the long seam to seal in the filling. Place each log, seam side down, in the prepared pan. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise at room temperature until the dough is about 1 inch above the rim of the pan, 1 to 1.5 hours.

Preheat an oven to 350 F. Bake until the loaves are golden brown and pull away from the sides of the pan, 35-40 minutes. Turn the loaves out onto wire racks and let cool completely.

Yield: 2 9-by-5 inch loaves

Source: Williams-Sonoma

Entry filed under: bread, Breakfast.

Guinness Stew Chicken Piccata

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thecookingnurse  |  March 18, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    That looks great!

  • 2. Maryanna  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Oh yum! I could probably eat this whole loaf.

  • 3. Angry Little Chef  |  April 11, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I had the same issue as you with the big hollow spot around the swirl. But the bread was DELICIOUS. My other problem was that when I cut off a couple of slices, liquidy cinnamon ooze started coming out of the loaf and the slices. So I had to kind of sop it back up with the piece of bread. :o)

  • 4. Amy  |  April 11, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I found that this bread really needs to be cooled completely before slicing. However, sopping up the mess with another piece of bread sounds delicious to me! Glad you liked it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


