Caesar Salad with Homemade Croutons

February 26, 2009 at 6:11 pm 5 comments

I often order Caesar salads when we go out to eat, but have never made one at home. It was finally time. I’m not sure what I was scared of, possibly the anchovies? Several people have told me that anchovies are just salty and nothing to be scared of trying, but I was a skeptic. Even still, I found a recipe using anchovy paste instead of whole filets. However, I know realize that they do infact add a salty flavor and are nothing to be scared of. I wouldn’t eat them whole, but for flavor purposes they are so worth it.

caesar-salad

Caesar Salad with Homemad Croutons
Ingredients
For the croutons:
2 large cloves garlic, peeled and pressed through a garlic press
1/4 tsp salt
3 Tbsp olive oil
2 Cups 1/2-inch white bread cubes (I used whole wheat)

For the salad:
1 large egg
3 Tbsps lemon juice
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1/4 tsp salt
8 grindings black pepper
1 small clove garlic, pressed
1 1/2 tsp anchovy paste
1/3 cup olive oil
2 medium heads romaine lettuce (large outer leaves removed) or 2 large romaine hearts, torn into 1/2 inch pieces

Directions
For the croutons: Adjust the oven rack to the center position and heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Mix garlic, salt, and oil in a small bowl; set aside for 20 minutes. Spread bread cubes out over a baking sheet. Drizzle oil through a fine-mess strainer evenly onto bread; toss to coat. Bake until golden (about 10 minutes). Cool on baking sheet.

For the dressing: Bring water to a boil in a small saucepan over high heat. Carefully lower whole egg into water; cook 45 seconds. Remove with a slotted spoon. When cool enough to handle, crack egg into small bowl with all other dressing ingredients except oil; whisk until smooth. Add oil in a slow, steady stream, whisking constantly until smooth. Adjust seasonings.

Source: Cook’s Illustrated

Entry filed under: Salad dressing, Salads, Sides.

Risotto Cakes with Lemon Aioli BLT Roll-Ups

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pennies on a Platter  |  February 26, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Did you see Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Ceasar Salad? I was thinking of trying it out… but maybe I should try this one!

  • 2. Amy  |  February 26, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    I did see that one, in fact, that’s what inspired me. I had to take baby steps with the anchovies though… 🙂

  • 3. adamswife06  |  February 26, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    I saw anchovie paste at the store, maybe I will buy some and try this.

  • 4. brannyboilsover  |  February 26, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    I still remember the first time I ate a Cesar Salad…the restaurant so so fancy that they made the dressing right in front of our table. Delicious!

  • 5. Malerie  |  March 17, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Thank you so much for the crouton recipe, I made these tonight at they were divine! I added Italian seasoning and dried parsley and they are just perfect!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


