So you say it’s your birthday…

February 24, 2009 at 8:58 pm 9 comments

This past weekend I celebrated my brithday. I agonized over which cake to make for days before deciding to use my all time favorite frosting. I used to ALWAYS ask my mom for this frosting on chocolate cake for my birthday as a kid and  my old favorites always win with me. I had several offers to make a cake for me (mom, grandma, and hubby) and I appreciated every one of them, but I truly wanted to make my birthday cake. I am SO glad I did because this was fabulous. I am disappointed because I didn’t get any great pictures, but the recipe is too good not to share.

birthday-cake-design
birthday-cake-2

Black Magic Layer Cake with Raspberry Filling and Marshmallow Frosting
Ingredients
For the cake:
2 Cups sugar
1 3/4 Cup flour
3/4 Cup cocoa
2 tsps baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 Cup buttermilk
1 Cup strong black coffee or 2 tsps instant coffee plus 1 cup boiling water
1/2 Cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

For the filling:
1 1/2 Cup heavy whipping cream
1 Cup frozen raspberries
1 tsp raspberry extract
6 Tbsp powdered sugar

For the frosting:
1 oz unsweetend chocolate, melted
1 1/4 cups light corn syrup
2 egg whites, at room temperature
dash salt
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
To make the cake preheat the oven to 350F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans or one 13x9x2-inch baking pan.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes (batter will be thin). Pour batter evenly into prepared pans.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes for round pans, 35 to 40 minutes for rectangular pan or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely.

To make the filling combine the whipping cream, powdered sugar, raspberry extract, and raspberries in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Beat at high speed until stiff peaks form, refrigerate until ready to use.

To make the frosting: heat corn syrup in a small saucepan over medium heat until boiling. Once boiling remove from heat. In a large bowl, using a hand mixer, beat egg whites at high until foamy; add salt and continue beating until soft peaks form. Slowly pour in hot syrump and continue beating 6-8 minutes until frosting is fluffy and forms pointed, stiff peaks when beater is rasied. Beat in vanilla.

To assemble the cake slice cooled cakes horizontally to form 4 even layers. Layer cakes with an even layer of raspberry filling in between each. Spread frosting on top and sides of cake. Spoon melted chocolate into a small decorating bag with small writing tube. To make feather design, pipe chocolate in parallel lines across the cake. Then, draw the tip of a knife across lines at evenly spaced intervals, first in one directing, and then in the other.

Source: Cake from Hershey’s, Filling adapted from Cooking this and that, frosting from Mom.

Entry filed under: Cakes.

Shrimp Lasagna Rolls Risotto Cakes with Lemon Aioli

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brannyboilsover  |  February 24, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Yay! Happy Birthday!

  • 2. Molly Jean  |  February 24, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    YUM YUM YUM!

    My birthday isn’t anytime soon, but I definitely need an excuse to try this out!

    And happy birthday by the way!

  • 3. bridget  |  February 24, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    It looks beautiful! I was excited about making my own cake for my birthday too.

  • 4. Joelen  |  February 25, 2009 at 9:34 am

    What a fabulous cake to celebrate with! Hope your birthday was happy!!

  • 5. Laura  |  February 25, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    hope you had a great birthday! : )

  • 6. Deborah  |  March 1, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Yum! Marshmallow frosting sounds AWESOME! 🙂

  • 7. Kim  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Hi there! I was so excited to try this cake because it looks so yummy! After I mixed all the ingredients listed for the cake, I noticed there is no flour listed in your ingredients list. I googled black magic cake & found the recipe that calls for 1 3/4 cup flour then 3/4 cup coco. I tried to fix it so I added the flour & a little extra sugar since I had already put the 1 3/4 cup coco powder listed in your recipe. Hopefully it turns out well… just a little more chocolaty! Just thought I should let anyone else know before they tried it:)

  • 8. Amy  |  April 4, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Kimmy,
    Thank you so much for letting me know. I have updated my original post to show the correct ingredient list. I’m glad you caught it. I’m sure it will still taste wonderful. Let me know how it turns out!
    Amy

  • 9. Kim  |  April 7, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Hey Amy! It turned out really yummy! I was worried it might be a little dry with the extra dry ingredients but It was very moist still. It came out really rich & chocolaty, I might just add extra coco & sugar the next time I make it to:D

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


