Tiramisu

February 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm 2 comments

I have mentioned previously that tiramisu is one of my favorite desserts. My love for all things coffee started at a very young age because of my paternal grandmother. When I was little (around 2 or 3) my Grandma would give me coffee. It was mostly milk and she would let me put my own sugar in which made me feel so special. This usually ended up being a disaster, but she never got mad. She would then pour it out and let me start all over. This is one of the few memories I have with my Grandma and I attribute this to my love for coffee.

Now, on to the tiramisu. I’ve never made tiramisu and thought it would be difficult. Boy was I wrong! I couldn’t believe how easy this was to throw together. I made this to end our Valentine’s day dinner. My husband cooks for me every year on Valentines and I provide the dessert and/or appetizers (Thanks honey, I really enjoyed it!).

I actually halved the recipe and made it in a 8×8 baking dish. I have posted the original recipe below.  

tiramisu

Tiramisu
Ingredients
2 1/2 Cups strong black coffee, room temperature
1 1/2 Tbsps instant espresso powder
9 Tbsp dark rum (I used tia maria, any coffee liqueur would work)
6 large egg yolks
2/3 Cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 pounds mascarpone cheese
3/4 heavy cream (cold)
14 ounces ladyfingers (42-60)
3 1/2 Tbsp cocoa, preferably dutch-processed
1/4 Cup semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate, grated (optional)

Directions
Stir coffee, espresso, and 5 Tbsps rum (or coffee liqueur) in a wide bowl or baking dish until espresso dissolves; set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat yolks at low speed until just combined. Add sugar and salt and beat at medium-high speed until pale yellow, about 1-1 1/2 minutes, scraping down the bowl once or twice. Add remaining 4 Tbsps rum (or coffee liqueur) and beat at medium speed until just combined, 20-30 seconds; scrape bowl. Add mascarpone and beat at medium speed until no lumps remain, 30-45 seconds, scraping bowl down once or twice. Transfer mixture to a large bowl and set aside.

In the now empty mixer bowl (no need to clean), beat cream at medium speed until frothy, 1- 1 1/2 minutes. Increase speed to high and continue to beat until cream holds stiff peaks, 1- 1 1/2 minutes. Using a rubber spatula fold one-third of whipped cream into mascarpone mixture to lighten, then gently fold in remaining whipped cream until no white streaks remain. Set mascarpone mixture aside.

Working one at a time, drop a ladyfinger cookie into coffee mixture, roll, remove, and transfer to a 13×9 ince glass or ceramic baking dish. Do not submerge ladyfingers in the coffee mixture, the entire process should take no longer than 2-3 seconds for each cookie. Arrange soaked cookings in a single layer in the baking dish, breaking or trimming to fit as needed.

Spread half of mascarpone mixture over ladyfingers; use a rubber spatula to spread mixture into sides and corners of dish. Place 2 Tbsp cocoa in a fine-mesh strainer and dust cocoa over mascarpone.

Repeat dipping and arranging with remaining ladyfingers. Spread remaining mascarpone mixture over ladyfingers and dush with remaining cocoa. Wipe edges of dish dry with a paper towel. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate 6-24 hours. Sprinkle with grated chocolate, if using. Cut into pieces and serve chilled.

Source: Cook’s Illustrated

Entry filed under: dessert.

Coconut Cake Parmesan Risotto

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joelen  |  February 17, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I have yet to make this recipe but heard nothing but raves!

  • 2. brannyboilsover  |  February 17, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    This is my FAVORITE dessert ever. But I can’t make it myself. I don’t want to know how sinful it is…
    and H doesn’t like it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


