Spinach-Artichoke Dip

February 3, 2009 at 8:44 am 2 comments

This is my favorite dip – no contest. I have made several variations and they are always good, but none have been as good as this recipe. I have heard raves about it for quite some time and I’m not sure what took me so long. I should’ve known Alton wouldn’t fail me. I had a small altercation when making this recipe — I was out of sour cream! I threw in some cottage cheese instead and it was great. In fact, I might continue to make it that way.  This dip is  warmed in the microwave which is great when you have other things occupying your oven. If you haven’t tried this recipe yet give it a try. You will not be disappointed!

spinach-artichoke-dip
Alton Brown’s Spinach Artichoke Dip
Ingredients
1 Cup chopped frozen spinach, thawed
1 1/2 Cups chopped canned artichoke hearts
6 oz cream cheese, softened
1/4 Cup mayonnaise
1/4 Cup sour cream (I used cottage cheese)
1/3 Cup grated parmesan
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt

Directions
Thaw spinach and squeeze all of the water out, set aside. Heat cream cheese in a microwave safe bowl for 1 minute, or until hot. Stir in rest of the ingredients, serve warm.

This can also be made ahead of time and reheated when ready to serve.

Source: Food Network

Entry filed under: appetizer.

Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread Cream of Mushroom Soup

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  February 3, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I agree – this one is my favorite! Have I made any others? No…but I don’t need to! The cottage cheese idea was a good replacement.

  • 2. joelen  |  February 3, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I’ll have to try making this with cottage cheese!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


