Cranberry Lemon Muffins

January 27, 2009 at 4:03 pm 5 comments

I have mentioned several times before that I love having homemade breakfasts around the house especially on mornings when I have to run out the door early. They also break up my normal routine of cereal. I have a stash of cranberries hanging out in my fridge waiting for the perfect opportunity to be used. I bought several bags this fall while they were in season and am enjoying them in a variety of treats. Cranberry orange seems to be a popular combination, but it just isn’t my favorite. Orange flavor anything just isn’t my favorite. I enjoy oranges and orange juice, but when it comes to orange flavoring I can do without. I was searching for a cranberry lemon muffin and came across this. I must admit I was a little skeptical, but my skepticism was wrong and these proved to be some yummy muffins. I had to make a small substitution because I ran out of white sugar. I noted my change below. If you wanted to lighten these up even more you could easily sub applesauce for the oil.

cran-lemon-muffins

Cranberry Lemon Muffins
Ingredients
2 Cups all-purpose flour
1 Cup sugar (I used light brown)
3 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 Cup milk
1/2 Cup vegetable oil
1 tsp lemon extract (I used the juice and zest of 1 lemon)
1 Cup fresh or frozen cranberries, halved

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients. In another bowl, beat the eggs, milk, oil, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in cranberries.

Fill paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake at 400 degrees F for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from the pan to a wire rack.

Yield: approximately 18 muffins

Source: Allrecipes

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Cottage Cheese Dill Bread Balsamic Glazed Chicken with Mango Salsa

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joelen  |  January 27, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    These look great and refreshing!

  • 2. bensbaby116  |  January 27, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I can’t even think of a time when I’ve had cranberry and lemon together, but it sounds like a great combo! I can’t wait to try these.

  • 3. Anna  |  November 2, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Love the muffins. I used a cup and a half cranberries and a little more sugar. I think they could have used a bit more cranberries though. I will certainly make this recipe again. I too used brown sugar. I recommend this recipe!

  • 5. katesfolly  |  February 22, 2011 at 3:16 am

    Hi there!

    Tried this recipe a few days ago and was so impressed. Thanks for sharing! I linked to this page on my blog 🙂 I’ll be making these again for sure.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


