Chilli

January 4, 2009 at 10:50 am 3 comments

I love chilli. It seems to be one of those foods I start craving as soon as it becomes Fall.  Unfortunately, since moving to florida the stores no longer stock my favorite chilli beans so I’ve had to improvise my mom’s old recipe. I have even started using ground turkey instead of beef to make this a little bit healthier. I love that this can easily be doubled (or reduced) and can easily be made in the crockpot by browning the meat and transferring to the crock. This recipe may not be gourmet, but I love it and hope you do too.

chilli

Chilli
Ingredients
1 lb ground beef or turkey
2 15 oz cans chilli beans (I like brooks or bush’s)
4 15 oz cans diced tomatoes
1 large onion, diced
1-2 green peppers, diced
2-3 gloves of garlic, minced
salt & pepper

For garnish
green onions, chopped
shredded cheese
hot sauce (if you like)
ditalini (chilli mac)

In the bottom of a large stock pot brown the ground meat until cook through and liquid has evaporated. Add the onions, pepper, and garlic and saute until translucent and fragrant. Add the beans and tomatoes and simmer on low for several hours (the longer the better). Season with S&P as desired.

*Note: If using the crock pot brown the meat and veggies in a skillet as described above. Transfer to the crock pot and add the remaining ingredients. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4.

Source: Adapted from my mom

Entry filed under: main dish, Slow Cooker.

Chicken with Goat Cheese and Sundried Tomato Sauce Stuffed Mushrooms

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fingers80  |  January 4, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Mmm, chili is one of my favorite comfort foods! I’ve never tried making it in the crock pot. I’ll have to do that!
    ~bensbaby116 (from the WC board)

  • 2. joelen  |  January 4, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I still need to make Chili this winter – so hearty and perfect for the cold!

  • 3. jenny  |  November 3, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    that’s funny about the store not having your favorite chili beans. i experienced that in albuquerque this summer when i was there for 6 weeks. i live in kansas city, so thye always have all kinds of chili beans here.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


