Soft Ginger Cookies

December 18, 2008 at 5:52 pm 1 comment

soft-ginger-cookies-2

Since we are traveling this year for Christmas I haven’t made nearly the number of goodies I usually do. My husband had been bugging me to make a spicy cookie, but I just didn’t have a recipe I wanted to try. When I found these cookies I thought they would be similar to gingerbread and would satisfy his craving. They did just that. He was very pleased and called them addicting.

I took some advice from others who had reviewed the recipe and omitted the water. The icing I used called for milk and I happened to have some eggnog on hand so I used that. I thought it added a great flavor to the cookies, but definitely isn’t necessary.

Soft Ginger Cookies
Ingredients
2 1/4 Cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 Cup margarine, softened
1 Cup white sugar
1 egg
1 Tbsp water (I omitted)
1/4 molasses or honey
extra white sugar for rolling

For the icing
1/2 Cup confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp milk (I used eggnog)
1 tsp light corn syrup
1/4 tsp almond or vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Sift together the flour, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Set aside

In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and  sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and then stir in the molasses (and water, if using). Gradually stir the sifted ingredients into the molasses mixture. Shape dough into walnut size balls and roll in sugar. Place the cookies 2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheat.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are slightly golden brown. Allow the cookies to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

To make the icing, stir together confectioners’ sugar and eggnog (or milk) until smooth. Beat in corn syrup and extract until icing is smooth and glossy. If the icing is too thick, add more corn syrup.

To frost drizzle approximately 1 tsp of icing over each cookie. Decorate as desired.

Source: Cookies from Allrecipes, Icing adapted from Allrecipes

Entry filed under: Cookies.

Cheesecake Bars Apricot Pork Chops

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. joelen  |  December 18, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I love the idea of using eggnog for the icing! These look so festive and delicious – great job!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


