Spicy Shredded Pork

November 12, 2008 at 10:49 pm 4 comments

Tonight I realized I was so far behind in blogging that I needed to take a few minutes to make a post. I made this early last week and am just now getting around to posting it. I have been so busy with school and my internship I have lost all of my free time. I have not lost my cooking time (thank god!). I still make time to at least make make dinner everynight. Anways, enough about me. This was a great meal for my busy schedule. It was super tasty, made great leftovers, and was a switch up to our normal repetoire. Enjoy!

spicy-shredded-bork

Spicy Shredded Pork
Ingredients
4-7 lb pork shoulder
1 onion
1 tsp chilli powder
1/4 Cup brown sugar
3-4 garlic cloves
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp ground cumin
1-2 Tbsp salt
2 Tbsp white vinegar
Lime wedges for garnish

Directions
Combine all of the spices, vinegar, and onion into a food processor and process until combined. Rub mixture over pork shoulder thoroughly.

place meat into the crockpot with 1-2 cups of water. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Shred with two forks.

Serve with over warm tortillas with pico de gallo, sour cream, and lime wedges.

Source: Adapted from Pioneer Women

Entry filed under: main dish, Pork, Slow Cooker.

Cookies n’ Cream Cake Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelsey  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    I love the Crockpot adaptation. This is on my list of dishes to try!

  • 2. Amber  |  November 18, 2008 at 11:23 am

    This looks amazing. I have been meaning to make it but apparently I forgot. 🙂

  • 3. Angela  |  December 7, 2008 at 6:25 am

    Hi, I just found your blog and I can’t wait to try this recipe. My husband LOVES shredded pork.

    I just wanted to point out when i was writing down the recipe, I noticed that the directions call for vinegar, but its not included in the ingredient list. I clicked on the pioneer woman link and found it was 2 tbsp. I just thought I’d point it out. I’m just trying to be helpful. I know I overlook stuff too.

    Thanks for the recipe and I’ll let you know how it comes out.

  • 4. Amy  |  December 7, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Thank you for that :). I corrected it in my ingredient list. I try to be thorough, but evidentally I still missed something. I’m excited to see how you like it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


