Crockpot Tortilla Soup

October 21, 2008 at 7:28 pm 1 comment

For the life of me I can’t remember where I found this recipe. Most likely, I bookmarked it from the cooking board I frequent. I have been making this for a couple years now and love the convenience. It is a great go to meal when I will be gone all day and have a lot of homework to do when I get home. The soup itself is a *little* spicy, but adding a little sour cream and cheese counteracts that.

One great thing I have learned about the slow cooker is that you can in fact put frozen chicken in as long as the slow cooker isn’t warm. Personally, I think this prevents the chicken from drying out. 

Crockpot Tortilla Soup
Ingredients
2 skinless chicken breasts, thawed or frozen
1 10 oz package frozen corn
1 large onion, chopped
2 garlic cloved, pressed
24 oz chicken broth
10 oz tomato sauce
10 oz diced tomatoes with green chiles
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chilli powder
1 bay leaf
Salt & Pepper

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker, and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Shred chicken before serving

Serve with tortilla chips, sour cream, cheese and garnish with cilantro if desired.

Entry filed under: Slow Cooker, Soup/Stew.

Tomato Herb Flatbread BBQ Beef a la Crockpot

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stef  |  November 1, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Yes it was really good! I just had some leftovers tonight. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


