Cornbread

September 21, 2008 at 8:34 pm 2 comments

 

I usually never eat cornbread with my chilli because I grew up on ditalini (chilli mac) in my chilli. Today I decided I wanted to try and make cornbread and have a carb overload! I found this recipe and it sounded great and I’ve never had a bad Cook’s Illustrated recipe. This recipe was no different. It was very good. I froze half of the bread to use in stuffing later. Mmm, mmm! The only thing I did wrong (and it was my fault) was not read the directions carefully. I combined the brown sugar in with the flour instead of processing it. Luckily, the bread game out wonderfully despite my mistake. 🙂

 

Cornbread

Ingredients:

1 ½ Cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 Cup yellow cornmeal
2 tsp baking powder
¾ tsp table salt
¼ tsp baking soda
¼ Cup packed light brown sugar
¾ Cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
1 Cup buttermilk
2 large eggs
8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400o. Spray an 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray. In a medium bowl whisk flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and baking soda; set aside.

In a food processor, process sugar, corn, and buttermilk until combined. Add eggs and process until combined (there will still be corn lumps).

Using a rubber spatula, make a well in the center of the dry ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the well and fold a few times. Add the melted butter and continue folding until the dry ingredients are moist. Pour the batter into the baking dish, smoothing the surface with a rubber spatula. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Cool on a wire rack 10 minutes before inverting cornbread onto a wire rack. After inverting turn right side up and cool about 10 minutes before serving.

Source: Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Cook’s Illustrated

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: bread.

White Chocolate Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies Spicy Garlic Wings with Blue Cheese Dip

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bridget  |  September 21, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    This is my favorite cornbread recipe too! I made it last week to go with chili.

  • 2. Chelle  |  September 23, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Looks wonderful! I’m glad you enjoyed it, I still need to make my first pot of chili of the fall season!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


