Coffee Ice Cream

September 5, 2008 at 10:14 pm 2 comments

Whenever I run into TJ Maxx or Homegoods I like to take a look at their gourmet food aisle. This time I came across kahlua chocolate sauce. I think I picked it up three or four times trying to decide if I should give it a try our not. I finally decided to buy it and I’m glad I did as it made the perfect topping for this delicious ice cream. I was excited when I saw this recipe because it didn’t call for espresso. It actually called for plain old brewed coffee. This was perfect seeing as how we always have at least a cup leftover from our morning coffee. This ice cream actually has a very subtle coffee flavor. I thought it was perfect. It would even be good blended with some ice to make a frozen coffee drink.

Coffee Ice Cream

 

Ingredients:

1 ½ Cups whole milk

1 ½ Cups Heavy Cream

1 Cup brewed coffee, chilled

1 Tbsp sugar

Pinch of salt

1 tsp Vanilla extract

 

Directions:

In a bowl, mix the milk, cream, and coffee together.

 

In a larger bowl combine the sugar and salt. Add the milk mixture and whisk until the sugar dissolves. Add the vanilla and stir to combine. Set aside, allowing the flavors to blend (about 15 minutes)

 

Cover and refrigerate the mixture until chilled, at least 3 hours.

 

Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. Transfer ice cream to an air tight container and freeze until firm, at least 3 hours.

 

Source: Williams Sonoma Ice Cream , by Mary Goodbody.

Entry filed under: Ice Cream/Sorbet.

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Taco Ring

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristina  |  September 5, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    This looks so good. I like anything with coffee in it. I think this will be the next ice cream I make.

  • 2. Joelen  |  September 8, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Mmm – I made coffee ice cream a few months ago and loved it (only it called for instant coffee). I’ll have to give this brewed version a try!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


