Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

September 1, 2008 at 9:14 am 1 comment

If I’m being honest I didn’t love these cookies at first bite, but after my fifth and sixth I changed my mind. In fact, amazingly I liked them even more the next day when they had cooled. The cookies have a wonderful flavor, and have a certain cakiness (yes, I know that’s not a word!) to them. I prefer my cookies to be a little more fudgy (yes, a term usually used for brownies). When I tried them again the next day I thought they were much more “fudgy” and I enjoyed them quite a bit more! If you’re looking for a new cookie recipe I would definitely give these a try. They have a wonderful flavor and are very pretty.

This recipe calls for some interesting steps when forming the cookie balls to place on the cookie sheet. You can read about them here. I, however, found the dough to be too sticky to work with and I just used my cookie scoop. For the first batch I put two small scoops on top of each other to form large cookies and for the second batch I used only one scoop. I think they turned out just fine and it eliminated the extra step.

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
1 cup packed light or dark brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1-1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Heat the oven to 325 degrees. Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray.

 

In a medium bowl whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt, set aside.

 

In the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed until combined.

 

Using a cookie scoop, place two scoops directly on top of the other, spacing them 2 ½ inches apart. *note – for smaller cookies you may use only one scoop watching the cooking time carefully*.

 

Bake until the cookies are a light golden brown and the outer edges start to harden. The centers will still be soft, 15-18 minutes. Halfway through the cooking time rotate the baking sheets from top to bottom and front to back. Cook cookies on the sheets, and remove with the side of a metal spatula.

Source: Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Baking Illustrated.

Entry filed under: Cookies.

Mmm, Comfort Food Coffee Ice Cream

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Enza  |  September 1, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I made this exact same recipes lastnight….so far my favorite recipe. They definitely taste much better the next day. I can’t wait to blog about them!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


