Chocolate-Raspberry Ice Cream

August 18, 2008 at 9:57 pm 1 comment

This ice cream didn’t turn out the way I had imagined, but it was still SO wonderful. I was trying to decide what type of ice cream to make next, when I decided brownie batter would be tasty. I searched the web for recipes and didn’t come up with anything. I did stumble upon cake batter ice cream recipes galore. The flavor is given by adding cake batter, so I thought I could do the same thing using brownie mix. I have had a box of no pudge chocolate raspberry brownie mix taking up space in my pantry forever, and I LOVE raspberry so I decided to give it a try. The nice thing about no pudge is that not only is it low-fat, it can be made in individual servings (so having half a box of mix left over isn’t a terrible thing). The actual ice cream doesn’t really taste like brownie batter, but it has a fantastic chocolate raspberry flavor. I imagined the same results could be achieved by melting in some chocolate and adding raspberry extract instead of using brownie mix. So, even though my search for brownie batter ice cream continues, I have found a wonderful chocolate raspberry ice cream.

Chocolate-Raspberry Ice Cream

Ingredients:

1 Cup whole milk, well chilled

¾ Cup sugar

2 Cups heavy cream, well chilled

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2/3 Cup Brownie mix (or melted chocolate & raspberry extract)

 

Directions:

In a medium bowl, whisk the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the cream and vanilla. Whisk in the cake mix making sure there are no clumps. Pour into ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers recommendations. Transfer to an airtight container to store. Enjoy!

Source: Recipezaar

Entry filed under: Ice Cream/Sorbet.

My favorite banana bread Chicken-Spinach Lasagna

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jaime  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    i love the combo of choc and raspberry together! this looks perfect for summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


