Cinnamon Ice Cream

August 11, 2008 at 7:44 am 1 comment

This weekend, Joe and I went over to my mom’s house where she had some neighbors over for dinner. I brought an apple pie and my mom and I thought it would be a nice addition to make some ice cream. Her ice cream maker makes two flavors simultaneously so we decided to do Vanilla Bean and cinnamon. While my mom loves cinnamon ice cream with her pie I must admit that I have never been a fan until now. The cinnamon flavor of this ice cream was complimented perfectly by the vanilla.

Cinnamon Ice Cream

 

Ingredients

1 cup white sugar

1 ½ cups half and half

2 eggs beaten

2 cups heavy cream

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp ground cinnamon

 

Directions

In a saucepan over medium-low heat, stir together the sugar and half and half. When the mixture begins to simmer, remove from heat, and whisk half of the mixture into the eggs. Whisk quickly so that the eggs do not scramble. Pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan, and stir in the heavy cream. Continue cooking over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. Remove from heat, and whisk in vanilla and cinnamon. Set aside to cool.

 

Pour the cooled mixture into an ice cream maker, and freeze according to the manufacturers recommendations.

Source: Allrecipes

Entry filed under: Ice Cream/Sorbet.

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream Turkey Cobb Burgers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. joelen  |  August 11, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Oooh – I never thought of making cinnamon ice cream! I think I’ll wait towards the fall to make this so I can pair it up with apple or pumpkin pie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


