Strawberry Ice Cream

August 10, 2008 at 11:16 pm 1 comment


I have been using a hand-me-down ice cream maker that requires ice and salt combined in a large bucket as a base for the frozen container. Not only is it awkward to store, but it’s just a pain to use. Last week, I finally got the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchen Aid stand mixture. The bowl now lives in my freezer so that I am able to make homemade ice cream whenever I want. I will now be trying every recipe out of my beloved William Sonoma Ice Cream book. I decided that since strawberries are on sale this would be the first.

Ingredients:
2 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
¾ cup Sugar
Pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups fresh strawberries, stemmed, cored, and chopped

Directions:
In a bowl, combine the cream and milk. Add the sugar and salt and whisk until the sugar dissolves. Stir in the vanilla. Set aside, stirring occasionally, to allow the flavors to blend (about 15 minutes).

Cover and refrigerate the mixture until chilled (3-8 hours).

In a bowl, using a fork or potato masher, mash half of the chopped strawberries until they break down into small chunks. Add the remaining strawberries to the bowl, cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Pour the milk mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Once mixture is the consistency of thick whipped cream, add the strawberries. Churn or stir until just blended. Transfer to a freezer-safe container. Cover and freeze until firm.

Source: William Sonoma Ice Cream, by Mary Goodbody, 17

Entry filed under: Ice Cream/Sorbet.

Apple Pie Smothered Pork Chops

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. joelen  |  August 11, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Yum! You had much better luck than me… my very first recipe to break in my ice cream maker was strawberry. However, it came out more like a smoothie because of the adaptations I made. (sigh….)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


foodbuzz


Foodbuzz

Recent Posts

Categories


